Contact Information

Cebu Holdings, Inc.
20/F Ayala Center Cebu Tower
Bohol Street, Cebu Business Park
Cebu City, Cebu 6000
Tel: (63 32) 888 3700

Teachers’ group honors outstanding Cebu grads

Saturday, April 30, 2016

CEBU, Philippines - The Coalition for Better Education conferred Medals of Excellence to 10 outstanding education graduates from various colleges and universities in Metro Cebu as part of its 15th anniversary this year.

The awards were given recognize young student teachers who have contributed to the creation of empowered learning communities.

This year’s awardees are Ariel Suquib of the University of Visayas), Raphael Renz Unabia  of Saint Theresa’s College, Cathlien Sigarra of Mandaue City College, Christiannelyn Jane Alingaga of Cebu Institute of Technology-University, Honey Balbaboco of University of Southern Philippines Foundation, Lhyn Arcilla of Cebu Normal University, Gee-Ann Saga of Lapu-Lapu City College, Adeline Orozco of University of San Carlos-South Campus, Carl Manila Atutubo-Pal of University of Cebu-Lapu-Lapu and Mandaue Campus and Camille Alonto of Benedicto College.

CBE also gave Ryan Lumapas, an English major graduate from the University of the Visayas, a special leadership award for successfully spearheading various education-related events in his school.

Luchi Flores, CBE executive director, said the awardees were carefully selected by education experts and stakeholders.

“The criteria were academic excellence and leadership performance and most of all, they should embody the traits of a CBE leader,” she said.

“Right now, what we really need are teachers who can effectively teach not only the basics but also teach children how to think critically,” she added.

There were 21 nominees for this year, from whom 10 were picked to become ambassadors of CBE.

The awardees received a certificate of recognition, a CBE gold medal, free one-year CBE membership training and development grants, tokens from CBE partners and certification or endorsements as may be needed to the Department of Education.

This is the third batch of awardees. There have been 30 individuals given medals of excellence since 2013.

Meanwhile, the group also launched “Celebrate CBE,” a mini-exhibit showcasing the series of events marking the organization’s historical milestones. The exhibit shares their success and gives inspiration to its members, partners and the public, said Flores.

For this year’s activities, Flores said they will be having a rerun of the two best-selling seminars and fora that they already conducted for the past years: the Leaping, Enabling, Advancing, Promoting or LEAP series 21st century learning which will be held on July 1,8, and 15 at Center of Excellence, CNU Campus, and Imagine, Innovate, Inspire or I3 series on July 22, 29 and August 5 at the CNU campus as well.

CBE will hold their general membership meeting on August 6 where they elect three new officers.

According to Flores, CBE is a non-government organization of teachers, professors, and concerned citizens committed to improve the quality of education in the Philippines and to create empowered learning communities.  It was founded on August 8, 2001.

The group believes that ignorance and poverty in the country can be overcome by holistically learned communities. — (FREEMAN)